Poem of the Week / Selina Moses

Red Shoes

Red shoes, make her dance

Make her dance and let her sing.

Merrily she takes her chance

Dancing to the bells that ring.

Vanity becomes her while the church bells condemn,

Frolicking on road, in river, past fen.

The faster she dances, the wilder she sings,

Through forest and countryside, her heels grow sore with wings.

Please Mister woodcutter, please would you help?

I can’t seem to find my way and I’ve lost my sense of self.’

He cuts her feet right off, the shoes run away

Leaving her distressed, with nothing more to say.

Rags to riches and back to rags again,

Karen is back in the world of men.

Poor little wren.

 Selina Moses

Are you interested in submitting some of your poems for InteractBlogs’ Poem of the Week? Please get in touch.

Interact UK – http://interact-uk.org.uk
3 thoughts on “Red Shoes

  1. that was a truely amazing piece. it moves me on so many levels.
    the stark imagery of red shoes, like magic ruby slippers like those dorothy uses to wish herself home;
    “The faster she dances, the wilder she sings,” – powerful metaphor in this
    “I can’t seem to find my way and I’ve lost my sense of self.” – i understand
    the ideas of the wood cutter and the cutting off of her feet left me feeling unnerved and a little fearful. that was potent.
    ty for sharing that 🙂

Leave a Reply

